fitness, weight loss

Losing the wobble | update

It’s been a whole 6 months since I last wrote a weight loss and fitness post. Wow! I kind of fell off the healthy eating wagon over the winter and haven’t been for a proper run since October.While my overall target weight remains the same, I’ve had to adjust my goal for the summer to something a little more realistic, considering the time frame.

I currently weigh 146.8lbs when my target for this time of year was 135lbs. While I know that the numbers on the scale aren’t as important as how I feel, I’ve been living in my body and know how certain weight’s and fat percentages feel.

I’m tired of being in the 10-stone-something bracket. I highly doubt I’ll ever get below 9 stone again, but between 9 and 9 1/2 would be a nice compromise. Obviously, my health and fitness are more of a priority than just shedding pounds. I’m still eating three meals a day and working out regularly. Muscle is more dense than fat so if I don’t lose any weight but still look and feel better, I’ll be happy.

The family holiday to Disney is creeping closer and closer. While I’m a lot less concerned with how others see me than I used to be, I don’t want to look back at photographs of this trip, cringing at shots of me in shorts.

I’ve been tracking my meals in My Fitness Pal as usual and following an exercise programme I found on Pinterest. Each Level lasts 4 weeks and gradually increases in difficulty. When I did week 1 day 1 of Level 1 I wondered if it would make any difference. I’ve just completed week 1 of Level 2 and I can tell you, it’s hard work!

I’ve not gone out for a run in so long. My excuses have ranged from, my runner’s knee injury to not having the time when my husband’s shift pattern changed to the weather and temperature. I really need to push myself to get out there, even if it’s just once a week to maintain some level of cardio fitness. If you can see on the pictures of my exercise programme, day 6 of each week includes a jog. All the Level 1 jogs are under 5 minutes, which is unrealistically short to go out for. By the time I’d got to the top of my street, it would be time to turn around and come home. To get this cardio exercise, without going for a jog, I’ve been cycling on my exercise bike for that amount of time. And on the rest days, I’ve found a short 10-minute yoga video on YouTube and I’ve been doing that just to try to improve my flexibility.

My favourite Bullet Journalist, Kara Benz, has also just embarked on a new health and fitness journey, and it makes it so much more fun to see someone who inspires you make progress on a similar journey to you.

I’ll post an update of my stats this time next month, so hopefully, I’ll have lost another 5lbs by then, and I’ll be on Level 3 of my exercise programme *help*

Sorry, it’s a day late publishing…

Laters, mermaids

1 thought on “Losing the wobble | update”

Leave a Reply

